09 مايو 2012

المنتدى الإلكتروني المجاني: Discovery Tool Implementation and Selection!


السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته:

تقدم جمعية مجموعات المكتبات والخدمات الفنية Association for Library Collections (ALCTS) & Technical Services  التابعة لجمعية المكتبات الأمريكية American Library Association (ALA) المنتدى الإلكتروني المجاني E-forum بعنوان: Discovery Tool Implementation and Selection، وفيما يلي التفاصيل:

Description:  The discovery interface market is exploding, with current products including EBSCO Discovery Service, Serials Solutions Summon, Ex Libris Primo Central, OCLC WorldCat Local, Blacklight, VuFind, Aquabrowser, and more. These tools (both vendor-supplied and open-source) promise faceted browsing as well as ability to integrate multiple content silos; some come with vendor-provided cloud indexes to articles, e-books, and other electronic content. The newest development is a cloud-based back end designed to replace the ILS, including OCLC’s WorldShare, Serials Solutions Intota, and Ex Libris Alma. In today’s world, tools differ not just in the quality of features provided, but in overarching functionality provided and in scope of coverage. The e-forum will address factors to consider when selecting a tool, strategies for evaluating tools, and keys to successful implementation.

Hosts:
Nara Newcomer is Assistant Music Librarian at East Carolina University, where her duties include cataloging, public services work, and maintaining the music library’s web pages. Nara has worked closely with discovery selection and implementation at ECU, including Serials Solutions Summon, WorldCat Local, and SirsiDynix Symphony e-library OPAC. She is leading the creation of the Music Library Association’s “Music Discovery Requirements” document, which explores and provides recommendations for meeting the unique demands music materials pose for discovery.

Bill Walsh is Head of Technical Services at Georgia State University Library, which implemented EBSCO Discovery Service last summer after evaluating other options. He is co-chair of the library’s discover group.

Dates & Times:
Tuesday and Wednesday, May 15 and 16, 2012

Each day, sessions begin and end at:

  • Pacific: 7am – 3pm
  • Mountain: 8am – 4pm
  • Central: 9am – 5 pm
  • Eastern: 10am – 6pm
Credits:  None.

Fee:  Free.

Technical Requirements:  Email with an internet connection.

How to Register?
You must register to subscribe to or access an electronic discussion list on ALA's Mailing List Service. Find instructions for subscribing online. Once you have registered for one e-forum, you do not need to register again, unless you choose to leave the list.

Questions?
If you have trouble subscribing to the discussion list or have questions, please contact alcts@ala.org. Or, contact e-Forum Coordinator, Kristin Martin, kmarti@uic.edu.


مع خالص تحياتي وتقديري،
غدير مجدي عبد الوهاب


 
روابط الموضوع
URL
HTML
BBCode
Print Friendly and PDF

0 التعليقات:

Share
Digg button
  DIGG

Get This